Texas A&M University

University Studies Degrees

Students who are currently enrolled at A&M may submit proposals to enroll as University Studies majors. The University Studies Degree format was created to provide students the flexibility to combine areas of study that are of special interest. The combination of courses may not be possible through existing degree plans. This flexibility may be attractive to students who have particular career paths or post-baccalaureate degree paths in mind. All University Studies degree plans require 120 hours for completion.

A University Studies Degree consists of a concentration of 21-24 hours and two minors of 15-18 hours each. Specific courses may be required for the completion of the hours in the concentrations and minors. Some concentrations and minors contain required courses that have additional prerequisites. One of the two minors must be completed in a college outside of the college that provides the concentration for the student’s degree.

Students must submit a proposal that lists the courses for the individual degree plan the student hopes to complete to the Office of General Academic Programs. The application includes a required essay in which the student can explain how the degree will help the student meet the desired educational and personal goals. Once it is determined that the proposal has been completed with appropriate information, it will be reviewed by the college that offers the concentration. Students must be in good academic standing, and they must have good academic standing in previous courses that count toward the concentration or minors.

A University Studies major will be considered a student in the college that offers the concentration. If the proposal is approved, the student’s major will be listed as one of the abbreviations below. The student’s diploma will list Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science in the same place it is currently listed, and University Studies will be listed in the place the college is currently listed. The student’s area of concentrations and the two minors will be indicated on the student’s transcript.

USAL College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
USAR College of Architecture
USBU Mays Business School
USEH College of Education and Human Resources
USEN Dwight Look College of Engineering
USGE College of Geosciences
USLA College of Liberal Arts
USSC College of Science
USVM College of Veterinary Medicine

For information about the possible concentrations, minors and application process, go to the following website or contact an advisor in General Academic Programs: gest.tamu.edu.